Former judges and leading experts today launched a 15 point plan to eliminate the undue influence of money in politics.

Former judge and Chair of The Centre for Public Integrity, the Hon Anthony Whealy QC, joined with Melbourne Law Professor Joo Cheong Tham and former Senator Tim Storer to develop the plan, which covers key reforms of our political donations and lobbying regulations.

“The Commonwealth has the weakest integrity laws in the country,” the Hon Anthony Whealy QC said.

“There is no independent oversight of Commonwealth parliamentarians, ministers, political staff and public servants. Political influence can effectively be bought as a result of inadequate regulation of political donations and lobbying,” Mr Whealy said.

“Political donations under the threshold of $14,000 need not be disclosed, donations are only disclosed annually, and there is no limit to how much parties can spend on campaigns,” Professor Joo Cheong Tham said today.

“Reform is critical to being restoring public trust in our democracy,” Professor Joo Cheong Tham said today.

The key reforms outlined in the 15 point plan are:

  1. Caps on electoral expenditure
  2. Caps on political donations
  3. Transparency of political donations and electoral expenditure
  4. Increased public funding of political parties and candidates
  5. Regular reporting of gifts and interests
  6. Cap on government advertising
  7. Restrictions on Parliamentary entitlements
  8. Alignment of state and federal political finance laws
  9. Transparency of lobbying activities
  10. Codes of conduct strengthen and enforced
  11. Close the revolving door
  12. Ban cash for access
  13. Fair consultation process
  14. Statement of reasons
  15. Effective compliance and enforcement

About The Centre for Public Integrity

The Centre for Public Integrity is an independent think tank dedicated to preventing corruption, protecting the integrity of our accountability institutions, and eliminating undue influence of money in politics in Australia. Board members of the Centre are the Hon Tony Fitzgerald AC QC, the Hon David Ipp AO QC, the Hon Stephen Charles AO QC, the Hon Anthony Whealy QC, Professor George Williams AO, Professor Joo Cheong Tham and Geoffrey Watson SC.